Sir Vivian Dunn Conducts

Sir Vivian Dunn Conducts

This CD was produced to complement the launch of 'Fiddler on the March', the biography of the distinguished conductor and composer Sir Vivian Dunn. It reflects the recordings' highlights from his career: firstly with six tracks from his EMI Gold Disc winning LPs recorded as a military musician in the 1950s and 60s. And secondly, following his return to the classical music world in 1970, six tracks from his widely acclaimed recordings with the Light Music Society orchestra, which remain popular to this day with listeners to Classic FM and BBC Radio 2 and 3. The tracks are:

The Band of HM Royal Marines School of Music
1. English Folk Song Suite - Vaughan Williams
2. Alla Marcia (from 'Karelia' Suite) - Sibelius arr. Richardson
3. Sursum Corda, Op 11 - Elgar arr. Kappey (with Barry Rose, organ)
4. Pomp and Circumstance March No. 2, Op. 39 - Elgar
5. Nimrod, Op. 36 (from The Enigma Variations) - Elgar arr. Wright
6. Crown Imperial - Walton arr. Duthoit (with Barry Rose, organ)

The Light Music Society Orchestra
7. The Children's Overture, Op. 17 - Quilter
8. Dusk - Armstrong Gibbs arr. Wilbur
9. The Haunted Ballroom - Toye arr. Tapp
10. Londonderry Air (Air from County Derry) - Grainger
11. The Watermill - Binge
12. A La Claire Fontaine - Farnon

Total running time 75 minutes.

£12- incl p&p worldwide (Special Offer)